history of the farm
One of the Ottawa Valley’s founding families, the Hawkins clan first settled in the area now known as Beckwith-Carleton Place in 1816. Their small one-room log farmhouse still stands on the Stonefields site today and has been lovingly renamed The Settler’s Cabin in honour of the family.
Over the years, the family built barns and sheds to house their animals, equipment and tools. In 1857, they erected the large stone farmhouse. The 120 acre farm changed hands only a few times over the years.
Most recently, Phyllis and Brian Byrne lived on the farm for 35 years and raised their children in the old farmhouse. They expanded the stone home by adding a great room. They maintained the old buildings and designed the gorgeous country gardens. Theirs was a home full of love and laughter. They hosted huge family gatherings and card games in the pub with friends.
In 2010, Stephanie and Steve Malenfant purchased the farm with plans to continue that tradition. Entrepreneurs at heart, they set to work to transform this picture perfect location into an exclusive and timeless venue for life’s celebrations. They renamed it Stonefields. Although the story’s still being written, so far, it’s been full of happy endings.